When you drag a recipe onto your Planner the resulting ingredients on your shopping list are associated with the date you planned that recipe. In general, as long as the dates of that planned recipe falls within the dates of your shopping list, those items will appear on your shopping list. If you change the dates of your shopping list, say from last week to this week, and that recipe does not fall within those dates, those items will not appear on your shopping list.
However, manually added items do not have dates associated with them and will appear on your shopping list regardless of the dates of the Shopping List. As you shop from week to week you may find those items remaining on your list, and be confused about whether or not you have already purchased them.
Manually added items are differentiated on your shopping list by a subtle blue background.
There are a few tools built into Plan to Eat that will help you manage these manually added shopping items.
When you check an item using the mobile website, you are telling Plan To Eat that you have placed the item into your cart and you no longer need it on the list. This item, whether it was added manually or from a recipe, will be removed from your list until you plan the recipe again or add the item manually back onto your list.
If you prefer not to use the mobile website to do your shopping, you can restore your shopping list by pressing the Restore List button on the Shopping List. This button will remove all manually added items and restore all items that have been checked off. It’s a good idea to get into the habit of checking this button as soon as you are ready to start preparing your shopping list to remove any extraneous shopping list items from previous shopping trips.
Any item on your Shopping List, regardless of whether it was added manually or from a recipe, can be removed by rolling over the item and pressing the Remove Item icon (it looks like a trashcan) that appears.
You can also remove multiple items by placing a checkbox next to them and pressing the Remove Selected button that appears at the bottom of the Shopping List.